Half-Drag by Leland Cobbe

How cool is that please?

Azraea

I know her very often from my statistics that searches (Any Name) unvarnished. Usually the name then Olivia Jones, but also for other drag queens is searched with these words often. No question, it seems many people are interested, which could probably look familiar drag as a man.

Pusse Couture

If you do not just randomly knows privately, you do not get it mostly yes really with and if they do not just look extremely Striking or the voice is clearly,recognizes ordinary consumers nor the guy in drag queen.

Honey Davenport

But it is very interesting, to show both, has the New York photographer Leland Bobbé thought and started to photograph Half-Drags. Linke Seite Drag Queen, right man… And there are really great photos were taken.

Jessica Payge

Seven, I asked for publication, but I would have all 31 Pictures – forth the pure quality – like to be able to show. They are great. Please view undbedingt, it is worth: Here you come to the Half-drag range

Stormy Weatherz

Pixie Adventure

Sherry Vine

Berlin Biennale opening in the department store Maassen

Since I live in Berlin, I – Strictly speaking, the Orange in Kreuzberg, I look at a beautiful old, large, imposing, six-story building, Unfortunately, that is completely empty. Since then, I ask myself, times what it was and why it is probably empty, I also frequently revel in thought, what you could do it well.

kaufhaus maassen oranienplatz

To ienna time, should have been as the Orange Street Kurfürstendamm of Kreuzberg, this building was the store Maassen, the largest specialty house for women's clothing in Germany. Just a few hundred meters from the first Wertheim department store, was the lady of the world here buy everything you need, they sat Pelze oder Pariser Mode. All there was in the department store Maassen. Eventually it was to end, the war came, the house fell into disrepair and was empty. End 2003 The house was completely renovated – and has since been empty again.

eröffnung Berlin biennale

The last few weeks I was able to recognize some small features, that this will change something, I saw lights, I saw workers, which came in or out. obvious from the department store Maassen should lay awake the hibernating. Today it was so far…. At the side entrance were large, wide men – Bouncer – and before that there was a queue of people waiting…. Hmm a snake… I place myself at times also.

eröffnung biennale Berlin

It turned out, that there was an opening ceremony of the Berlin Biennale and was therefore carried out a private viewing of contemporary art behind the walls. Admission by invitation… I of course had not, but no one asked for these invitations and I was admitted.

kapitalismus biennale

The large rooms were divided with covered plywood into many small rooms, many of which were built as a small cinema for artistic movies. Not all these movies I've seen, not all opened up to me, but I think that must not be so. Art is always the, declared what the artist as an art. If alternate on a canvas just different colored rectangles over several minutes, that is the way art.

[HTML3]

General social criticism was probably an issue of opening, so I have two more films drawn into the spell. One of the films on two screens showed scenes of French demonstrations, Singing, dancing and especially angry with French sayings – often obvious to Sarkosis. Often a cantor on a canvas and the loud answer to the other. Even though I did not understand anything, it was very power full.

Berlin Biennale Eröffnung

Another film was about the GDR. They saw students, which is about the exploitation of (West)-German workers talked, to a French, who has studied social studies in East Germany until the turn and then had to find their way in a new world society, To a teacher, turnaround time for the questions not answered and you saw a competitive athlete, told the, so spannend, I saw the movie twice…

[HTML2]

Probably the most attention a naked man otherwise generated in a glass box, was described over and over with diseases besäät umm. Certainly the most photographed object on this vernissage of the Biennale. Contemporary Art – If the artist says the, and certainly a bit of an experiment, to catch a picture in the newspapers.

biennale berlin

I liked this opening somehow fallen, Even though much passed me, such as the Stegosaurus standing in the backyard and the elephant adjacent… or it should be a mammoth? I do not know, but for me it was always the star of the buildings of the former department store Maassen.

berlin biennale

I would be only too happy, however, the biennial opening party at Kiki Blofeld visited, someone would have found, who wanted to come.

Nocturnes – Photographs from the nightlife of Berlin

Nocturnes – Nightlife in Berlin

Baier-Cybersissy-and-Baby-Jane_WEB
J.Jackie Baier – Cybersissy and Baby-Jane. Copyrignt J.Jackie Baier 2010. All rights reserved.

Today I want to again point to an exhibition, that sounds pretty interesting. The photographer says of himself, she was 1993 come to Berlin as a transvestite. Her pictures show drag queens, the transport line and other less glamorous topics from the past 17 Berlin years. Sounds Interesting. In addition, the photographer is currently working on a feature-length film about Chantal's House of Shame. It will be interesting.

Nocturnes
Photographs from the nightlife of J.Jackie Baier
“I’m doing more for the revolution by just walking down the street..”
Jackie Curtis – transsexual playwright, actor/actress, Warhol superstar

Richard Sorge Art Space is pleased to issue “Nocturnes” to present with photographs from the nightlife of J.Jackie Baier. The extensive exhibition shows important working groups of the artist, including her House of Shame Project.

The photographer J.Jackie Baier moves through Berlin, mainly at night, indoors and outdoors, Sign in Ellen, on the Trans line, at parties, in Bars. The Berlin of the J.Jackie Baier is a hole, the “Reverberation room” a subsurface, in which the party of the twenties, the notorious “Dance on the Volcano”, has never stopped.
Who considered their work, will hardly suspect, to J.Jackie Baier was a “Party-Photographin” lost. Her look does not stick to the surface of beautiful body, even if the people in her paintings radiate beauty – a beauty, which touches the painful in some images.

“I came to Berlin as a transvestite, at a time, as the whole city was under renovation. I thought: where all holes are dug, You can not be wrong,” says the Berlin-based, since the 1997 also officially lives as a woman.
Themes and patterns found in Baier J.Jackie Nightlife, at the edges or completely off the socially acceptable events and parades “New Centre”. The “misfits”, the transsexual prostitutes and drag queens, their dream of true life dream in concrete cellars rotten boards, go through their images like flotsam.

Initiation: Thursday 11. February 2010, 19 You.
Closing: Thursday 4. March 2010, 19 You.

Exhibition: 12.02-03.03.2010
Opening times: Friday-Saturday 14-18 Clock, Weekday: by appointment.

Art Space Richard Sorge, Landsberger Allee 54, 10249 Berlin-Friedrichshain

New Year's Eve Port of Hamburg

igentlich I was with friends in Hamburg with raclette and high- and celebrate low proof alcohol, but in the short term but a trip to the Port of Hamburg was from, because if somewhere in Hamburg is correct fireworks, then there.

silvester Hafen Hamburg

Actually, my neighbor wanted Olli in Hamburg there to take pictures back and I joined him to look at. Zoe was this New Year's Eve in closet, what was better, because even with two jackets, it was bitterly cold at the port.

feuerwerk silvester hamburg hafen

Because it would be fully, Olli wanted to be just three hours earlier on the other side of the Elbe, occupy the space right camera and set up the camera. For me, that meant, come, mark, that it is ilvester bitterly cold at the port of Hamburg, and to quickly get back into my car with the New Year's Eve radio program and the heating at the highest level. After all, that was very close to the early date.

DSC00588

Although not as close as the NDR, with the OB truck, several wireless cameras and a 30 Meter trucks times with very different photographic equipment such as Olli at the start was… Eggs, Professionals and amateurs 😉

DSC00558

Nevertheless, to see the scenery of the harbor and the fireworks over the city of dortaus, to the ships on the Elbe and their fog horns were already very impressive.

Surprisingly, I have 31 Years lived in Hamburg and never seen the fireworks on New Years Eve on the harbor…. But I will also cold again now, just thinking about it and writing about it… Or is the so, I have just returned from Hamburg to Berlin and my apartment just is still cold??? Could also be.

silvester hamburg hafen

I went back there and 2010 can now really begin

Half-Drag by Leland Bobbé

Wie cool ist das denn bitte?

Azraea

Ich kenne ja aus meinen Statistiken sehr häufig die Suchanfragen (irgendein Name) ungeschminkt. Meist ist der name dann Olivia Jones, aber auch nach anderen Drag Queens wird mit diesen Worten oftmals gesucht. Keine Frage, es scheint viele Personen zu interessieren, die die bekannte Drag wohl als Mann aussehen könnte.

Pusse Couture

Wenn man sie nicht gerade zufällig auch privat kennt, bekommt man es ja zumeist auch nicht wirklich mit und wenn sie nicht gerade extrem Markant aussehen oder die Stimme eindeutig ist,erkennt Ottonormalverbraucher die Drag Queen im Kerl auch nicht.

Honey Davenport

Das es aber sehr interessant ist, beides zu zeigen, hat sich der New Yorker Fotograf Leland Bobbé gedacht und damit begonnen Half-Drags zu fotografieren. Linke Seite Drag Queen, rechte Seite Mann… Und es sind wirklich tolle Fotos entstanden.

Jessica Payge

Sieben habe ich zur Veröffentlichung angefragt, aber ich hätte auch alle 31 Bilder – rein der Qualität her – gerne zeigen können. Sie sind klasse. Bitte undbedingt ansehen, es lohnt sich: Hier kommt ihr zur Half-Drag Reihe

Stormy Weatherz

Pixie Aventura

Sherry Vine

Berlin Biennale Eröffnung im Kaufhaus Maassen

Seit ich in Berlin Wohne – genaugenommen am Oranienplatz in Kreuzberg, schaue ich auf ein schönes altes, großes, imposantes, sechsstöckiges Gebäude, dass leider vollkommen leer steht. Seither frage ich mich, was es wohl mal war und warum es leer steht, ausserdem schwelge ich häufiger in Gedanken, was man daraus wohl machen könnte.

kaufhaus maassen oranienplatz

Zu iener Zeit, als die Oranienstrasse der Kurfürstendamm von Kreuzberg gewesen sein soll, war dieses Gebäude das Kaufhaus Maassen, das größtes Spezialhaus für Damenbekleidung in Deutschland. Nur wenige hundert Meter vom ersten WErtheim Kaufhaus, konnte die Dame von Welt hier alles nötige kaufen, seien es Pelze oder pariser Mode. Alles gab es im Kaufhaus Maassen. Irgendwann war es zu ende, der Krieg kam, das Haus verfiel und stand leer. Ende 2003 wurde das Haus vollständig renoviert – und steht seither wieder leer.

eröffnung Berlin biennale

Die letzten Wochen konnte ich an einigen kleinen Merkmalen erkennen, dass sich daran etwas ändert, Ich sah Lichter, ich sah Arbeiter, die herein oder herauskamen. offensichtlich sollte das Kaufhaus Maassen aus dem lagen Winterschlaf erwachen. Heute war es so weit…. Am Seiteneingang standen große, breite Männer – Türsteher – und davor stand eine Schlange wartender Menschen…. Hmm eine Schlange… stell ich mich auch mal an.

eröffnung biennale Berlin

Es stellte sich heraus, dass es sich um eine Eröffnungsveranstaltung der Berlin Biennale handelte und somit hinter den Mauern eine Vernissage zeitgenössischer Kunst durchgeführt wurde. Eintritt auf Einladung… Die hatte ich natürlich nicht, aber es fragte niemand nach diesen Einladungen und so wurde ich eingelassen.

kapitalismus biennale

Die großen Räume wurden mit verkleidetem Sperrholz in viele kleine Räume unterteilt, von denen viele als kleine Kinos für künstlerische Filmchen gebaut wurden. Längst nicht alle diese Filmchen habe ich verstanden, längst nicht alle erschlossen sich mir, aber ich glaube dass muss auch nicht so sein. Kunst ist ja immer das, was der Künstler als Kunst deklariert. Wenn sich über mehrere Minuten auf einer Leinwand nur verschieden farbige Rechtecke abwechseln, so ist das eben Kunst.

Generell war wohl Gesellschaftskritik ein Thema der Vernissage, so haben mich eher zwei Filme in den bann gezogen. Einer der Filme zeigte auf zwei Leinwänden Szenen von französischen Demonstrationen, Singende, tanzende und vor allem wütende Franzosen mit Sprüchen – oft offensichtlich gegen Sarkosis. Oft ein Vorsänger auf einer Leinwand und die laute Antwort auf der anderen. Auch wenn ich nichts verstanden habe, war es sehr powervoll.

Berlin Biennale Eröffnung

Ein weiterer Film handelte von der DDR. Man sah Schüler, die sich über die Ausbeutung der (West)-Deutschen Arbeitnehmer unterhielten, um eine Französin, die bis zur Wende in Ostdeutschland Gesellschaftskunde studiert hat und sich dann in einer neuen Weltgesellschaft zurechtfinden musste, Um eine Lehrerin, die zur Wendezeit Fragen nicht beantworten konnte und man sah eine Leistungssportlerin, die erzählte, so spannend, dass ich den Film doppelt sah…

Ansonsten hat wohl am meisten Aufmerksamkeit ein nackter Mann in einem Glaskasten erzeugt, der über und über mit Krankheiten besäät äääh beschrieben war. Sicherlich das meistfotografierteste Objekt auf dieser Vernissage der Biennale. Zeitgenössische Kunst – wenn der Künstler das sagt, und sicherlich auch ein wenig ein Versuch, ein Bild in den Zeitungen zu erhaschen.

biennale berlin

Mir hat diese Vernissage irgendwie schon gefallen, auch wenn vieles an mir vorbeiging, wie beispielsweise der stehende Stegosaurus im Hinterhof und der daneben liegende Elefant… oder sollte es ein Mammut sein? Ich weiss es nicht, aber für mich war eh der Star das Gebäude des Ex Kaufhaus Maassen.

berlin biennale

Nur allzugerne hätte ich allerdings die Biennalen Eröffnungsparty im Kiki Blofeld besucht, hätte sich jemand gefunden, der mitkommen wollte.

Nocturnes – Fotografien aus dem Nachtleben Berlins

Nocturnes – Nachtleben in Berlin

Baier-Cybersissy-and-Baby-Jane_WEB
J.Jackie Baier – Cybersissy and Baby-Jane. Copyrignt J.Jackie Baier 2010. All rights reserved.

Heute möchte ich einmal auf eine Ausstellung hinweisen, die ziemlich interessant klingt. Die Fotografin sagt von sich selbst, sie sei 1993 als Transe nach Berlin gekommen. Ihre Bilder zeigen Drag Queens, den Transenstrich und andere weniger glamourösen Themen aus den letzten 17 Jahren Berlins. Klingt Interessant. Ausserdem arbeitet die Fotografin gerade an einem abendfüllenden Film über Chantals House of Shame. Man darf gespannt sein.

Nocturnes
Fotografien aus dem Nachtleben von J.Jackie Baier
„I’m doing more for the revolution by just walking down the street..“
Jackie Curtis – transsexual playwright, actor/actress, Warhol superstar

Kunstraum Richard Sorge freut sich die Ausstellung „Nocturnes“ mit Fotografien aus dem Nachtleben von J.Jackie Baier präsentieren zu dürfen. Die umfangreiche Schau zeigt wichtige Arbeitsgruppen der Künstlerin, unter anderem auch ihr House of Shame Projekt.

Die Photographin J.Jackie Baier bewegt sich durch Berlin, vorwiegend bei Nacht, drinnen und draußen, in Bordellen, auf dem Transenstrich, auf Partys, in Bars. Das Berlin der J.Jackie Baier ist ein Loch, der „Hallraum“ eines Untergrunds, in dem die Party der zwanziger Jahre, der notorische „Tanz auf dem Vulkan“, nie aufgehört hat.
Wer ihre Arbeiten betrachtet, wird allerdings kaum vermuten, an J.Jackie Baier sei eine „Party-Photographin“ verloren gegangen. Ihr Blick bleibt nicht an der Oberfläche schöner Körper kleben, auch wenn die Menschen auf ihren Bildern Schönheit ausstrahlen – eine Schönheit, die in manchen Bildern das Schmerzhafte streift.

„Ich bin als Transe nach Berlin gekommen, zu einer Zeit, als die ganze Stadt im Umbau war. Ich dachte: wo überall Löcher gegraben werden, kannst Du nicht falsch sein,“ sagt die Wahl-Berlinerin, die seit 1997 auch offiziell als Frau lebt.
Themen und Modelle findet J.Jackie Baier im Nachtleben, an den Rändern oder ganz abseits der gesellschaftsfähigen Events und Paraden der „Neuen Mitte“. Die „misfits“, die transsexuellen Huren und die Drag Queens, die in betonierten Kellern auf morschen Brettern ihren Traum vom wahren Leben träumen, durchziehen ihre Bilder wie Treibgut.

Eröffnung: Donnerstag 11. Februar 2010, 19 U.
Finissage: Donnerstag 4. März 2010, 19 U.

Ausstellungsdauer: 12.02-03.03.2010
Öffnungszeiten: Freitag-Samstag 14-18 Uhr, Wochentags: nach Vereinbarung.

Kunstraum Richard Sorge, Landsberger Allee 54, 10249 Berlin-Friedrichshain

Silvester Hafen Hamburg

igentlich wollte ich mit Freunden in Hamburg bei Raclette und hoch- sowie niedrigprozentigem feiern, aber kurzfristig wurde doch ein Ausflug zum Hafen Hamburg daraus, denn wenn irgendwo in Hamburg richtig Feuerwerk ist, dann dort.

silvester Hafen Hamburg

Genaugenommen wollte Olli mein Nachbar in Hamburg dort zum Fotografieren hin und ich schloss mich ihm zum Schauen an. Zoe blieb dieses Silvester in Schrank, was auch besser war, denn selbst mit zwei Jacken war es am Hafen bitterkalt.

feuerwerk silvester hamburg hafen

Weil es voll werden würde, wollte Olli bereits drei Stunden vorher auf der anderen Elbseite sein, den richtigen Kameraplatz einnehmen und die Kamera einrichten. Für mich bedeutete das, mitkommen, merken, dass es am Hafen Hamburg ilvester bitterkalt ist, und mich schnell wieder beim Silvesterradioprogramm und Heizung auf höchster Stufe in mein Auto zu verziehen.  Immerhin das stand ob des frühen Zeitpunktes sehr nah.

DSC00588

Nicht so nah zwar wie der NDR, der mit Ü-Wagen, mehreren Funk-Kameras und einem 30 Meter Hubwagen mal mit ganz anderer Fotoausrüstung wie Olli am Start war… Jaja, Profis und Amateure 😉

DSC00558

Trotzdem, die Kulisse des Hafens und die Feuerwerke über der ganzen Stadt von dortaus zu sehen, dazu die Schiffe auf der Elbe und deren Nebelhörner waren schon sehr eindrucksvoll.

Erstaunlich, da habe ich 31 Jahre in Hamburg gewohnt und das Feuerwerk zu Silvester am Hafen nie miterlebt…. Aber mir wird auch jetzt schon wieder kalt, wenn ich nur dran denke und drüber schreibe… Oder kommt das daher, dass ich gerade aus Hamburg nach Berlin zurückgekehrt bin und meine Wohnung einfach noch kalt ist??? Könnte auch sein.

silvester hamburg hafen

Bin also wieder da und 2010 kann jetzt wirklich beginnen